searched but didnt find much!

my mate's bass truss rod needs some tightening i saw it today and the truss rod was from the headstock side but it was not like ordinary guitar rod?!? i mean should i use to tighten it??! not an Allen wench as on my strat??!!

im not a bassist im a guitarist but i do setups on guitars and id like to know about basses too...??

EDIT: ok so here's the post in the bottom of the thread. i thought many ppl won't read all thru the thread so i'll post it here too

ok guys errm sorry for the necrobump may be but i realise this belongs to the same thread as it's with the bass iwas talking about

so finally i took it from my friend to fix the neck:
first it had a pad my friend put to rise the neck. in the neck pocket of the body. i so i removed it and got the neck back screwed to the body again

the trussrod hole was erally raelly tiny but after trying a small allen wrench ive found out that it's actually some kinda wood or something stuck there! so i cleaned it with a needle-type of thing and found that it's the same size as my strat's

so i started making the adjustment. did small turns (1/8 turns) per half an hour or so...
however the truss rod was actually hard to turn (clockwise) and it made some kinda cracking noise like if it was all rusted!!! after a some hours i stopped and thought ima consult with ya guys!!! oh and one of the reasons of stopping was that the truss rod wouldnt turn anymore! i didnt push t too hard however! neck is ok!! no clues of damage done! however it's still ridiculously concave! there's a gap of about 1/4 inch above the 5/6/7 frets! i can stick the Allen wrench there without touching the strings!!

so i think there's something wrong with the Truss Rod??! how do i fix it or is it even fixable??!!

thanx!!!
Last edited by vigenharutyunya at Jun 7, 2010,
Quote by vigenharutyunya
searched but didnt find much!