Ok, I've been playing bass (not very seriously, btw) for almost three years now, and I've been doing more in-depth guitar studies for about a year and a half, but I'd like a few personal amp questions resolved.

Background Info:
I was thinking about a 65 watt Fender Frontman new for $200 because it has dual jacks and a pretty brilliant tone, but i have a friend who may sell me his Line 6 Spider jam 75w, but we haven't decided on a price. he just got a marshall head with a crate cab for free, so i'm trying to get it while he's got that new gear high. i prefer the spider because it has a microphone jack and more effects, but the fender has better tone, matches up with my preferred strat, and even seemed louder even with a 10w difference. my band hasnt decided on a genre yet, but it's most likely going to range from alternative/grunge to death metal, so that makes the line 6 a better choice. So my questions are:

1. Frontman vs Spider?

2. What's a good wattage for a transition from practice amps to small gig amps?

3. How often do the venues of small gigs/clubs have a PA system? (Everyone i've been to has one, but only a few mics for it)

4. How much should i ask for the spider?

Thanks guys, I appreciate any help.
I've never heard the Frontman's tone described as "brilliant" before. It does have a decent clean channel and it does take external pedals fairly well, but the drive is horrendous!

The Spider is an okay practice amp but it sounds pretty crappy for use outside of general practicing and they are notorious for having reliability issues.

At the end of the day you really shouldn't get either of them if you're looking for an amp to use in a band situation.

What's your budget?
Are you willing to buy used?
What styles do you play? (name some bands)
What other gear do you have?