Good morning/evening/night/day/whatever fellow people of UG forums.

I have been playing guitar for roughly 3 years now, almost 2 years with a teacher (before I had a teacher I was as hopeless as a camel trying to snowboard) and I have noticed an odd trend in my skill.

I practice daily, often between 1 and 3 hours, including 15-30 minutes of metronome practice. I do my warm ups usually, and try to learn new songs regularly while also composing my own.

The issue I have come across is that there are times when my competence and skill with my instrument seems to suddenly take a nosedive. For example, last week on Thursday I was playing Megadeth's Peace Sells, solos and all. Today, I picked up my guitar ( Hadn't a chance to play on friday or saturday, barely any time on sunday) and I could barely keep in time at 66 bpm to my metronome, and my playing was far more sloppy than it was before.

I know it sounds like this happened because I took a few days off, but that isn't always what happens before this. It seems to happen after I reach a point where I am playing better than I have in a while, then I suddenly have this issue. I can't say for sure, but I get the very strong feeling that this is harshly impeding my progress. Maybe it's just in my head.

Is it something psychological, is it related to my practice routine, or what? Any advice or anyone who knows what I am talking about is very welcome.
Quote by nifty111
Maybe it's just in my head.

this and i don't mean it in a good way. if you say you're playing peace sells solos and all one day and then can't play the next day to a 66 bpm metronome i'd question if you were playing cleanly and accurately before. there is some variance for needing to warm up, but ive never heard of a variance like that. i'd take a look at your technique and the amount of tension in your arms and hands when playing.

all in all i suggest more practice!
Last edited by z4twenny at May 17, 2010,