Ok, so I've been trying to improv for a long time now. I've been playing seriously since December '08. And I'm good at quite a lot of techniques. EXCEPT Improvising! It all sounds the same, and it's boring. I've learned lot's of scales, I've learned how to play in a certain key. But I still can't make them sound impressive. Any tips? Anything that helped you get outta your rut? Also, I can't seem to play legato very fast or anything. Any help with that either?
Improv is just about feeling things out, you kind of just have to be able to hear it in your head.
I'm a musician/composer before I'm a guitar player.

foREVer

R.I.P Jimmy "The Reverend Tholomew Plague" Sullivan.
try learning other peoples improvisations and melodies by ear and working them through every thinkable position and key. Then realize its not about sounding impressive, its about creating music. Practice alot of melodic patterns and others solos and then close your eyes and try to make music.
Quote by KG6_Steven
The one word you don't want to hear:

Practice.

I've been practing for almost 2 years... Hasn't improved at all.
Quote by skylerjames13

You can't really ask a question and shoot down relevant advice. If you know keys and scales, look at some of your favourite guitarists and see how they approach soloing in relation to the key and chord changes within a song.

And then practice doing the same.
And no, Guitar Hero will not help. Even on expert. Really.
Soundcloud
Quote by skylerjames13

How many hours a week do you put in and do you have a routine in which you practice?

Honestly to me that's the best advice anyone can give (and who says it's a dirty word? Practice can be fun).
I'm a musician/composer before I'm a guitar player.

foREVer

R.I.P Jimmy "The Reverend Tholomew Plague" Sullivan.
Quote by skylerjames13