hi,
i have an epiphone les paul custom, it is tuned correctly to standard and all the string retain there tuning when in use, but when i play a chord it always sounds off, i belive it is the G string which is causing the issue, i have put new strings on, tightend the machine head but it still sounds strange, any ideas??

cheers
Honestly, to me the g string always sounds off. It always sounds just a little sharp.
I'm a musician/composer before I'm a guitar player.

foREVer

R.I.P Jimmy "The Reverend Tholomew Plague" Sullivan.
Check your tuning at the first couple frets. If it’s more than a few cents sharp you either need some fine neck and/or nut adjustments to bring the string down.

But be aware that thee g string is supposed to sound a little off on most guitars. To sound right it needs to be a wound string. But when the standards for electric guitar were set guitarists were jazz and blues players doing lots of bends on the first couple frets and they didn’t want wound strings. So the manufacturers standardized on an unwound string. If it really bothers you there are some great articles on the net about using wound g strings, and you can special order sets with a wound third string.
If it's really bugging you take it in to a professional to get it looked over - they shouldn't charge you just for having a look at it, and most will be able to tell if your intonation is of just by looking over your setup.
Inhuman evil take down!
a lot of guitars are notorious for having problems with the G string. It is actually very very common, I feel like I see one of these threads at least once a week. Take your guitar to someone who knows what they are doing, it's probably an easy fix.
plug your tuner in and check the strings on the 12th fret. if they are off then you probably need a setup
Les pauls all have weird G strings... Nuff Said, Wheather they be Gibsons, Epis, Agiles, Heritages, ESP eclipses even, tehy all be weird in the G string