How do you guys proceed to learn new songs? Do you memorize each bar 1 at a time? or do you just try to play through it?

whenever i look up a song, ill look at the entire song and get discouraged from the length of it and how hard it looks. and then ill try to play it slowly, but then playing it slowly makes it hard because here i am plucking 1 note at a time with no sense of rhythm so there is no direction to what i am doing.

i really want to play more songs but i just don't know how to learn them.

any help please?
look for patterns. depends on the song thought, after i learned that main riff or whatever it is all thats left is solos and transitions and it doesnt look as scary.
Best way to learn a song, is to divide it up into the individual sections. And then once you learn all the parts, begin piecing them together. It's the most effective way for learning any piece of music.
I'm a musician/composer before I'm a guitar player.

foREVer

R.I.P Jimmy "The Reverend Tholomew Plague" Sullivan.
Learn the form.

For example:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iPuOY3V22vo

Intro-Verse-Bridge-Chorus-Verse-Bridge-Chorus-Solo-Intro(same chords)-Chorus-Second half of Chorus repeated.

Now, instead of looking at the song like it's 11 different parts you can see that it's basically just an Intro, Verse, Bridge and Chorus, repeated.
So now instead of 11 different parts you need to learn, you've only got four, making the whole thing a lot less daunting. Then you just need to memorize which part to play when, which is simple enough if you know the song well.
Quote by dmtransmutation
What the Grunge-haters think is just mindless musical nonsense, in reality is the restoration of the old rule of harmony to not write an entire song in one tonality/key
Yes, definitely look for patterns that repeat. At worst, the patterns will have a couple of notes added or removed. Check The Burning of Rome by Virgin Steele for example.
How to Program a Metalhead ?