I got a fear that I'll never be able to learn to read music, guitar or any other instrument. I've been playing for nearly 5 years, with tab and mostly by ear now, and I've only just decided to try learn. The thing is, it's so hard because I just keep working out the tune by ear, especially if it's one I know, and then making the notes on the page useless.
I'm learning the cello as well at the moment hoping that will help but I do the same ear thing on it I'm sixteen and my music teacher always tells me if I'm ever gonna learn to read it should be now, and I'm worried I'm running out of time. Has anyone got any tips or got any knowledge you can give me if you were/are in a similar position? Any help will be much appreciated. Thanks
You aren't running out of time but you have to practice it EVERY DAY. I didn't start till I was 17 and I can read very well now. Find a new piece of music every day and just read it. Something you aren't familiar with and give it a 30 second look over and then try to play it. Do this every day, or better yet, multiple times a day. You will get better.

http://www.free-scores.com/index_uk.php3
Winner of the 2011 Virginia Guitar Festival

Protools HD
Lynx Aurora 16/HD192
Mojave, Sennheiser, AKG, EV etc mics
Focusrite ISA828 pres
Waves Mercury
Random Rack Gear

65 Deluxe Reverb
PRS CE 22
American Standard Strat
Taylor 712
Well, all I can say is, while your music teacher might be right about many things, this thing with "If you want to learn it you should do it now" is simply his opinion on the matter, and he's probably saying it in attempt to motivate you. If people who start re-educating themselves in their late 30's can get some astro-physics diplomas, then there's no way you can't ever learn to read sheet music if you don't do it right now. Take it easy, take your time. It'll take practice, and for different people it takes different amounts of time to learn, but eventually, you'll get there.
Gear: