Hi everyone! I'm new to the whole guitar world, and I recently decided to purchase a Seagull Maritime because of the good reviews and affordable price. But I am worried about the wider neck because I have pretty small, female hands. I won't be able to play the guitar before I buy it online because I literally live in the middle-of-nowhere and there are no guitar shops around. Will the wider nut width be a huge problem for me? Thanks!!!
The best thing you could do is play a guitar with a wide neck and see for yourself. Although, if your hands were that small it might be uncomfortable at first with some chords.
I'm Like a Super Hero Without Any Powers or Motivation.
if you already play, chances are that once your hand muscles adjust to the wider neck, you'll love it. otherwise, there's no reason even a very small handed person can't play a wider neck. i'm 5' 3" with small hands, and i loved playing my seagull original s6. it was much better for fingerpicking or for some kinds of fast playing where a little extra space gives you some leeway. 1.8" just isn't that big - i learned when i was a kid under 4'10" on a full sized classical with an even wider neck. just give yourself a chance to adjust to it. it's not about the size - just what you're used to.

on the other hand, you can play it safe by buying from a place with a liberal return policy. that way, if it doesn't work out for you, you can exchange it for another guitar.

btw, are you looking at one of the old maritimes or an SWS?
Hey patticake, I'm trying to buy an SWS. I really wanted an all solid wood guitar so that it would age nicely because who knows when I'll be able to afford another guitar! Thanks for all the responses!
Quote by patticake