First post ever...patience would be appreciated.

I will do my best to be as direct with this as possible... but I feel the need to explain some things in detail so that anyone reading has a firm understanding of where I am coming from with this. Here goes:

I can play guitar, bass, drums, piano, trombone...the list goes on. I started playing piano when I was 6 years old, and it was pretty much my lifeblood. Trombone shortly followed after, and it turns out that in the past 15 years, the only instruments that I can honestly say that I was profficient on were the trombone and the piano, as I took lessons in both and played both regularly.

HOWEVER...I never put in a ton of practice... Tons of potential, not so much drive. If I had practiced nearly as much as I should have or could have...who knows where I could have gone.

A key part of all of this is this:

I have extensive theory training. I was always involved in theory competitions, tests, and studies of the like. I took an AP music theory class in high school, and got a 5 out of a possible 5 in that test. Theory is NOT an issue for me.

I have been hacking at the guitar for about 5 years now, with no instruction or teaching...but I am farrrrr from a guitarist.

I have very eclectic taste in music, and it has evolved significantly over the years. These days my taste is defined by music that challenges my intellect on a regular basis. The music that moves me is primarily found in the jazz or metal genres (i.e. Pat Metheny,Mike Stern...and bands like Periphery, After the Burial, Animals As Leaders, BTBAM, Veil of Maya).

I can analyze and breakdown all the theoretical and technical elements of the aformentioned artists... but I just can't write anything even close to any of them, let alone play their material.