I have been playing guitar on and off for about 4 years now. I have decided to make the most of it, go for it, start playing again, and try to get a band started.

I aspire to play Metal/Metalcore (Ala August Burns Red, Killswitch Engage, Metallica) and also be able to pull of some softer stuff like Rise Against and Alter Bridge. I am looking for an amp to handle metal and rock tones.

I just sold my Peavey Valveking 112 due to financial issues (thanks to the now ex girlfriend) as well as it just wasn't producing the sounds I wanted.

I have done some research and have it down to:
Marshall JCM 900 dual reverb
Mesa Boogie Dual Rectifier
Peavey 5150 II or 6505
ENGL Fireball E 365

So the big question is which of the amps I am looking into buying to kick start myself back into playing will best suit me? I am going to buy used with a $1000 limit on the head if that helps.

Thanks for any help anyone can give me!
Last edited by bigajvigs at May 21, 2010,
august burns red uses a peavey 6505 and 5150 if that helps (i have one, it is perfect)
If it's creative, true to your musical goal, and it sounds good, put it in the song.

1. Guitar, delay, verb, amp, and creativity.
2. Well-tuned acoustic piano and creativity.
3. A bottle of water.
i got a splawn nitro wich is what killswitch uses now but its out of ur price range but id say get a 5150 or 6505 and kt88 mod it the kt88's have a much better sound
pro tools operator certified
agile in-ceptor 727
gibson:les-paul studio
fender:strat
ibanez:prestiege s2170se s520ex
esp:ec-1000vb
splawn nitro kt88s
genz-bends g-flex

Quote by Punkismygod
U sure u want a floydrose? those things will make your nerves explode
is there a big market for the splawn nitro's used? or still out of my range??

and if I go for the 6505 or 5150 whats the story with the kt88 mod? what does it exactly do?

thanks for the help!!
Quote by selkies