Hello guys,
Its been a year since I started playing electric guitar and bought my first 15W Fame amp(which was really good). Now im thinking of buying a new, bigger and better amp. After much searching about valve and modeling amps I am really close to choosing a modeling amp at 30W. I made this choice because I don’t to spend money in the future for pedals or pedalboards and because with ~200 Euros I will be fully covered in the future and finally it is what I need(a decent amp for practicing at home and a small live or jam with friends). I have heard really good comments about VOX VT30. I want to express your opinion for this amp, mainly from personal experience, and Id like to make a few question about the VFS5 pedal of the amp. I read that it can work in two ways(?). First, as an on/off selector of the effects and speed/tap settings for delay etc and second, as a selector of the presets(I think the user’s). Any answer can be very useful. Also, I was wondering if in the CH1 of the presets stored in the pedal I can save the song preset for example Smells like teen spirit, in CH2 the amp preset for example of UK 80’s, in CH3 my own preset with my own treble, middle etc and in CH4 for example a clean sound with chorus effect. Finally, if you aren’t already tired, I have a last question. Do you think that I should surely forget the idea of buying a valve amp, considered that I don’t want to buy pedals in the future and that I am not so “perfectionist” with my amp sound, because I am nearly a beginner? For any mistakes in my English just ignore them
30 solid state watts won't get you over drums without sounding terrible if at all. What style of music do you play? Would you be willing to buy a used amp?
Sounds like the VT30 will fit your needs fine. As for the foot switch, you can go to the vox site and download the user manual which will have all the information on how that works in conjunction with the channels, presets and whatnot.