I'm looking at getting a cheap multieffects unit maybe. I'm a little skeptical though. I have decent gear right now which I'd like to use for Post-rock, experimental, and ambient stuff. Problem is in these genres, effects are practically a must, and I don't have much money. The big things that I am really looking for are a delay, looper, maybe a reverb (my amp has one but it's not very strong), and a volume pedal. My problem is that I don't have a lot of money.

I've heard that the Danelectro FAB echo's are fairly simple to mod into good delay units. Any input on this?

Also, a volume pedal may not be necessary if it is possible to do volume swells with the knob on my guitar. I'm not very good at it right now, so I was wondering how well it would work compared to a volume pedal.

On a side note, what are some ways in which I could use a metal slide for ambient effects. I'd love to get an Ebow or something but they are too expensive for me at the moment.

And lastly, what are some chords (like 7th m7 9th diminshed, etc.) or scales that would be nice to use for this type of music?

Thanks
Ibanez RG270
Switch Wild I
Strat Copy

ProCo Rat Vintage RI
Dunlop Crybaby
Ibanez FZ7 Fuzz
Danelectro DJ-6 Phaser
What's your budget for pedals? I wouldn't go for the Dano pedals minus the Cool Cat series (though a couple of the "food" ones are decent).

For a cheap, versatile delay I'd look at the Marshall Echohead delay. I'm not sure about the US but over here they go for about £30 used.

EDIT: Playing slide with a bunch of effects should work good for ambient stuff. Drenched in reverb or delay it should sound pretty awesome.
You can do delay and reverb with a used Alesis Midiverb (50 bucks) but you'll need to get a separate footswitch... or you could do delay and loop with an Akai Headrush and get a Digitech Digiverb, and get an Ernie Ball volume pedal.
Quote by DeathByDestroyr
What the hell is a G&L.

Quote by Flux'D
Gay & Lesbian I think, the box smelled funny