anyone ever thought about or accually switched instruments due to lack of demand on your current? i am a folk musician who is well...an Acoustic Guitarist and well...when ever im trying to get a group going it seems everyone...EVERYONE! is a guitarist, and im tired of being just another guitarist sooo....i got some money coming my way and i think im going to invest in a decent Mandolin & an Octave Mandolin or Bouzouki.

ya hardly ever see anyone posting "Mandolin Player looking etc" but i always see people looking for a mandolin player etc.

sound lame? or a good idea? i do love the sound of the mandolin family so its not a sacrifice, but more of just something different to work at...

until then i guess i'll be workin the 12 string like mad to prepare for those insane doubled strings of the mandolins...
i think it's a great idea, i have the same problem on a regular basis but it's usually me not having a decent bassist... or singer for that matter ahaha
Saw Things So Much Clearer, Once You Were In My Rearviewmirror.

Well I've Been Down So God Damn Long, That It Looks Like Up To Me

SG man for life!
this was actually the exact reason i started on bass guitar as my first instrument instead of guitar. You're always looking for a bassist or drummer for your band, but never a guitarist - everybody's a guitarist these days
Ibanez RGT6EXFX -> Ibanez TS9 -> Korg Pitchblack -> Peavey 5150 II head -> Mesa Rectifier 2x12 cab
I see nothing wrong with switching to being a bit of a mandolin player. All it's going to do is give you a wider range of skills, making you more desirable to more groups.

I can say from experience that it really shouldn't be too hard to get used to the double strings on the mandolin. I play one here and there, never had a major issue switching back and forth between mandolin and guitar. The one thing you've got to remember is that the strings are tuned differently. A mandolin is tuned the same as a violin, if I remember correctly.