So, for a school assignment, i have to write a 2500 or so word essay about anything musical, that shows off my musical knowledge.

To be honest, im not too good with theory.

So, i want to basically look at the general post-hardcore genre, going on to maybe paying out on terrible bands like attack attack, while proving and making points, based on musical theory and such.

So, any ideas?

I understand, that you arent going to write my whole assignment for me, but your help would be useful.

Thanks a lot.

<3
In a crooked little town,
They were lost and never found.
Fallen leaves, fallen leaves, fallen leaves,
On the ground.
So, i want to basically look at the general post-hardcore genre, going on to maybe paying out on terrible bands like attack attack, while proving and making points, based on musical theory and such.
That would be terrible. Any attempt to prove that music is bad is completely futile. so don't bother.
Inhuman evil take down!
I'm pretty sure you can't prove that a band is terrible by using theory

I think you should explain some musical stuff like tension and resolve, how the frequencies of notes in chords or a key are related, or take a look at and analyze modern music without trying to show it sucks. Depends on the audience for how in depth with the subject you want to go really.

Or start from the basics of music theory and explain them in easy to understand ways. This would help your theory knowledge as well
Quote by DiminishedFifth
Who's going to stop you? The music police?
Last edited by FacetOfChaos at May 24, 2010,
I'm currently doing an investigation for college on the history of the concerto from the baroque era to the early 1900's.

Doing an essay on why you think a band sucks is a terrible idea.
you can't prove that a band sucks. it's like matthew mcconaughey. he sucks but nobody can prove it.
Anfangen ist leicht, Beharren eine Kunst.