About a week ago I picked up a Schecter Damien-6 FR. I love the matte black finish but this guitar is HEAVY.

I was skeptical at first going with the Licensed FR and my skepticism was right, I may have gotten a dud but this thing won't stay tuned for anything. I had it professionally setup twice in the week.

Time for something new. After exchanging I will have $429 store credit so I would like to stay around that price if possible. I don't know why the FR just stands out to me with everything I look at. Would I be that much better off with a hardtail? I just started playing and am looking to get into playing some classic rock and blues mainly.

I've been looking at quite a few ESPs, I really like the look and I keep hearing great things about their PUPs. Would I be better off going with active PUPs?

So really I'm trying to decide on whether or not to go with a OFR or hardtail and active or passive PUPs.

Looking at these:
http://www.guitarcenter.com/Schecter-Guitar-Research-Hellraiser-Deluxe-Electric-Guitar-104989173-i1443064.gc

http://www.guitarcenter.com/Epiphone-Les-Paul-Nightfall-Electric-Guitar-105939011-i1515776.gc

http://www.guitarcenter.com/ESP-LTD-KH-202-Kirk-Hammett-Signature-Electric-Guitar-105316459-i1399248.gc

http://www.guitarcenter.com/ESP-LTD-H-351FR-Electric-Guitar-584490-i1503618.gc

Anything else you guys could suggest?
My Gear-
2010 Ibanez S570DXQM 24-fretter
MIM Fender Standard Strat HSS Sierra Sunburst

Line 6 Spider IV 15w
go lift weights; problem solved
No ego-inflating quotes nor stupidly long signatures to be found here.

Move along.

Bands/Artists of the month; Marco Sfogli, Marco Sfogli and Marco Sfogli .

Quote by steve_muse
^lol'd at the sig, adj209
It's more than just the weight, the neck is uncomfortably wide for my small hands blah blah blah
My Gear-

Line 6 Spider IV 15w