I bought this amp used about a year a go, Its been great until a few days ago. The amp started to cut out and pop every now and then and now the satndby switch doesnt work at all.

Does any one have any experience with this amp or this type of problem? The tubes are the originals and I will be changing them (any suggestions?) but I'm not sure that will fix the standby or any of the other issues.

Any suggestions?

Thanks
Sounds like you did a valve which took out the fuse. Replace output valves and the fuse.
As for type of valve..... what sort of sound are you after? What's in it now and what would you like the new valves to have more or less of than those?
Gilchrist custom
Yamaha SBG500
Telecasters
Randall RM100 & RM20
Marshall JTM45 clone
Marshall JCM900 4102 (modded)
Marshall 18W clone
Fender 5F1 Champ clone
Atomic Amplifire
Marshall 1960A
Boss GT-100

Cathbard Amplification
My band
I have 4 tubes in there now that i can see. They are Sovtek 5881wxt 0109. Im pretty new to this stuff. I checked the fuse and it is ok.

When i turn the amp on with no guitar plugged in you hear a slight hiss with the odd little pop. When i look at the tubes in the back they all look the sme with one glowing a little bluer than others.

After about 5 mins the popping and hissing starts becoming almost scary loud and one of the tubes is glowing orange.

Is this definitely a blown Tube?

Being a newer player I might be looking for something that would be good in all areas. I prefer to play metal/rock/blues.

Thanks
Last edited by hazeman at May 25, 2010,
Quote by stratman_13
Red plating, sounds like.

One of the tubes is shot causing the other to glow? Or much bigger problem?

The Amp has auto biasing can I throw any tubes in it?