Hey guys,

I've been playing guitar obsessively for about five years now. I started playing acoustic, got very good with fingerpicking and have now been playing electric steadily for about two years. I've been getting fast, and have very good technique.

When I practice, I primarily improvise along to tracks on my itunes, as well as do plenty of finger exercises. My problem is that I'm having difficulty incorporating speed into my improvisation. So far, I've come to the conclusion that fast solos are something that are best when written beforehand instead of improvised, but I'm not entirely sure if this is true.

If you think they're supposed to be written beforehand, do you have any tips on writing fast, smooth solos? I'm sort of at a loss as to how to make fast transitions between different positions on the neck (besides octave jumps and the two-string horizontal "walks").

Alternately, if you think solos can be both fast and improvised, how does one combine the two elements successfully? Does it involve preparing certain licks beforehand or a better visualization of the modal boxes on the guitar neck(than I currently have)?
Don your antithesis spectacle, your backwards monocle, and traipse forward to victory.
It might not be a very good way to write solos, but I come up with all kinds of cool phrases all the time. I memorize them, and see which ones sound cool and are worth working with and which ones are not. Then I sort of start experimenting which ones could be used together. Main thing is, if you've learned something well, then you can play it fast off the top of your head. I rarely improvise by making completely new stuff, and instead my improvisation is often based on the bits I've come up with before and making variations on them.

All fast, great solos don't have to be written beforehand, though - Marty Friedman played the guitar solo on Tornado of Souls as a one-take, off the top of his head, or at least that's what I've heard.
Gear: