Page 1 of 5
Hey!
Now, before i write my question please note that i am NOT trying to start a flame thread and i do *love* a lot of Hendrix's music... (not just Voodoo Child - which is everyones favorite)

I'm a kind of beginner compared to a lot of you, know a few songs, a few scales and still very much learning - but no matter (nearly) which musician you speak to, they all seem to agree that Hendrix was one/is of the greats.

But none can really tell me why. Some say he merged rock and blues, some say his sound was revolutionary some say for his age he had an extremely advanced way of playing (honestly, can you get more vague than that?) and one guy actually told me he made up new chords and scales??!!?

My question is simple (the answer might not be!) :
What was so great about Hendrix?

I wont be arguing on points of whatever you write - I will be getting educated

Thanks in advance!
“God gave men both a penis and a brain, but unfortunately not enough blood supply to run both at the same time.”
(My hero) - Robin Williams
Quote by MusicGu7
Hey!
Now, before i write my question please note that i am NOT trying to start a flame thread and i do *love* a lot of Hendrix's music... (not just Voodoo Child - which is everyones favorite)

I'm a kind of beginner compared to a lot of you, know a few songs, a few scales and still very much learning - but no matter (nearly) which musician you speak to, they all seem to agree that Hendrix was one/is of the greats.

But none can really tell me why. Some say he merged rock and blues, some say his sound was revolutionary some say for his age he had an extremely advanced way of playing (honestly, can you get more vague than that?) and one guy actually told me he made up new chords and scales??!!?

My question is simple (the answer might not be!) :
What was so great about Hendrix?

I wont be arguing on points of whatever you write - I will be getting educated

Thanks in advance!

I'll just say what makes Hendrix great to me.....