So, I've been playing guitar for about six years now, going through many music phases through those six years, as anyone would have. I find myself now trying to learn music by bands such as Between The Buried and Me and Veil of Maya, and I can get most of it done for the most part (barely). But, I believe I found my problem.

I never trained my left hand ring+pinky fingers. I automatically do all my tapping with my first three fingers (unless I'm pulling off, I go for pinky>middle>index). Although, I've heard that Chuck Schuldiner grew up doing this same thing, I really think I'd be much better with some training.

So my question is:
Could anyone share some tips or ring+pinky specific exercises that I can use to my benefit?

Thanks in advance.
I had the same problem for a while. All I did was slow everything down and force myself to finger everything correctly. I didn't do any special exercises though. I just played songs very very slowly to make sure that every note was being played right.
Read through this...it did me a lot of good: http://books.google.com/books?id=wUZwk41Q5agC&pg=PA130&lpg=PA130&dq=legato+play+relax&source=bl&ots=URVj-LTC1g&sig=I61kIm77kqxMqDEfL1KnROV8HSs&hl=en&ei=NAkATKbxLcL68AbfgoXWDQ&sa=X&oi=book_result&ct=result&resnum=1&ved=0CBIQ6AEwAA#v=onepage&q=legato%20play%20relax&f=false

Also, there are guitarists who play largely without their pinky. See Michael Keene...http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v_9XTC88OJM. Sure, his technique isn't great, but this guy is still a ridiculous guitarist (inb4 Freepower-clones insult his playing ). My friend toured with The Faceless, and Keene told him that he can play certain licks about 8 bpm faster with his index-middle-ring than he could with an index-middle/ring-pinky combo. This was the result of an injury that left him unable to play/practice with his pinky for a long period of time. Go figure.