I'm ready to purchase a real amp after spending more then a year with my vibro champ
I'd like a an amp with effects loop
I'm not sure if I need 2 channels .....some guitarists run 2 different compressors in a split channel I'm not sure if the amp needs to be 2 channel for that

I was looking at the HIWATT DR 103 and PEAVEY 6505+
I also listened to one the big Marshalls but it didn't sound good to me with the built in distortion
not that I'm planing on using a built in distortion but still
I like the 6505+ much better

Now the Hiwatt is the most expensive and it's ideal for the Gilmourish brown sound but I'm not sure if it's worth the price, I'm sure that with a less expensive amp like the 6505+ a similar sound could be achieved....or am I wrong

I have no experience with big amps at all so I'd like to get some opinions and suggestions ....any other amps to look at ?
Budget?

When you're talking about 'brown sound' you're talking about Eddie Van Halen, not David Gilmour.

Whose sound do you want - David Gilmour or Eddie Van Halen? You can achieve neither of the two's sound with the 6505, by the way.
Quote by DeathByDestroyr
What the hell is a G&L.

Quote by Flux'D
Gay & Lesbian I think, the box smelled funny
Greg what did you send me??
Quote by Raijouta
Budget?

When you're talking about 'brown sound' you're talking about Eddie Van Halen, not David Gilmour.

Whose sound do you want - David Gilmour or Eddie Van Halen? You can achieve neither of the two's sound with the 6505, by the way.

I dunno, the 6505 does EVH...

Brown Sound traditionally refers to EVHs tone, which was based on a cranked, non master volume 70s Marshall Superlead. This setup today is pricey and not in any way home friendly volume wise (in fact, I wouldn't recommend it because of the sheer volumes required to produce OD). We'll need:

Budget?
Location?
Willing to go Used?
Some Influences/Tones you want to achieve?

and we'll be able to help.
Quote by Raijouta