Hello everyone!
I'm trying to achieve a high speed at picking and need some help to progress.I am self-taught so I learned everything by experimenting and seeing others playing the guitar. am currently trying to play some songs at a slower speed (even half of the original) using a metronome and progressing from there slowly by boosting the tempo.But I don't know how should I hold the pick to eliminate the bouncy effect of the string and have a better-sounding riff.I'm talking about alternate picking (downpicks and uppicks) on a single string.What would you suggest?Is there any specific technique?

I play mostly metalcore and need this stuff.
Thanks for your time and help.
Nick
You play metalcore, thus you dont deserve a reply!

lmao, just joking

Are you talking about Tremolo Picking?
i actually started by learning to do burst type stuff like -0-000-0-000 and like -0000- etc and then got so i could consistently do that and then tried long slower bursts sort of for like tremolo picking then once i could tremolo pick well and skip around strings while doing it to alternate pick at a slower pace which is not too difficult of a progression it seemed very natural i didnt sit down and try to learn this technique or that (im self taught too and play mostly at the gates, bloodbath, death etc.) it just kind of took time. Whats definitely good is to play it clearly and slowly and work your way up though; I had to kind of relearn some songs since i had made the muscle memories sloppily.
I'm talking about the technique that is used by bands like Lamb of God.Like the quick burst type stuff that AtTheGates\m/ is talking about (mostly 0000000 but in incredible speed).Hope that helps as I don't know what tremolo picking is sorry.Thanks for the help by the way
Ok dude, give me an example of a LOG song and i will see if i can help you with this