im 17, ive been playing guitar for 4 years. my dream is to have a music career. unlike alot of people i dont care about how famouse i am, i just want to do what i enjoy the most and get paid for it. my family seems to think i dream to much, but is a music career really dreaming too big? in this economy is it really realistic to strive for just a music career. what music careers are there that isnt extremely hard to get to.
if you really want to do it, you'll have to work for it. work hard. very hard. it's not easy to make a living from just music.

careers? teacher, session musician, writer, composer, producer, engineer, live sound, roadie, maybe getting into the business side of it.
The thing to remember is that, psychology is the biggest hurdle when it comes to being a musician. Writing music that people will pay for is something that for a lot of people depends on big sacrifices, if you want it enough then you will make the right decisions when they come.

I see myself in that paragraph you wrote, strange as it sounds. Living in west london, I'm 20, and I have yet to figure out whether it's remotely possible for me to commit to it enough and still survive financially. But, in my view, though I'm trying not to be theatrical here and stay as realistic as possible, I don't see any value in a life where I give up songwriting and performing for anything else, but I do see value in giving up everything else for it.

To a certain extent.

Keep your ego within your sights, and you'll make the right choices.

Progress in your songwriting as much as you can, keep putting yourself in environments where the music is, surround yourself with musicians if you can, and keep yourself available when the opportunities arise, however small or seemingly insignificant.

Long post, I apologize, I just have no idea how to simplify the answers to this question