hi im new to the bass scene
and i have a line 6 lowdown 15w bass amp plugged into an ibanez sr 300
and i was wondering how i could get a good sound to play orion by metallica since im auditioning soon and i want to get a close tone to the original
my amp has 4 models clean, R&B, Rock and Grind
and has 5 knobs whiuch are drive, bass, lo mid, hi mid and treble and a knob that sais op to comp which i dont really know what it does
also theres a filter octaver and chorus knob?

please help me find the right tone thanx in advance
Quote by amrkamel99
hi im new to the bass scene
and i have a line 6 lowdown 15w bass amp plugged into an ibanez sr 300
and i was wondering how i could get a good sound to play orion by metallica since im auditioning soon and i want to get a close tone to the original
my amp has 4 models clean, R&B, Rock and Grind
and has 5 knobs whiuch are drive, bass, lo mid, hi mid and treble and a knob that sais op to comp which i dont really know what it does
also theres a filter octaver and chorus knob?

please help me find the right tone thanx in advance

I hope you're not thinking about auditioning with that 15w amp. You wont be able to hear yourself at all.

x

EDIT: also, use your ears. Keep on messing with the knobs until you find a sound which you think is good. if you think it is good, it is good.

also that tone comes from technique aswell, not just equalisation.
Fender Geddy Lee Jazz
Warwick Corvette $$
Rockbass Streamer Fretless
Hartke HA5000
SWR Triad

Quote by Victory2134
I happen to enjoy every mankiss from shinhoman.
Last edited by shinhoman at May 29, 2010,
I'd probably start with:

Amp on clean
no drive
bass knob at 12 o' clock
low mid knob at 1 or 2 o' clock
high mid at 12
high at 11

try that and play around with it. The bass will make it sound more like a lower note and the high will make it sound more like a higher note. The mid gives it a little more punch.

I'd also throw just a little bit of that chorus in.