Well, summer time has come at last and I've been dying to build something. Sadly, the same problem comes up every time that I want to begin a project. Money... I have no money....

So then, what do I do? How do I still get to build a fun, summery project without spending very much (if any) cash?

Finally, I decided on a Ukulele. I've always thought that they were cool. I also want to learn to build acoustic guitars, and this will be a nice stepping stone.

Now, before the flames begin on how I'm doing things wrong... This is a practically cash-free build. I've never built anything before. And though I can find alot of guides online, few of them go into detail. So, this is just kinda me winging it. For practice.

This is just a breakdown of the planning process ha.. I sketched it out on some poster-board. It's going to be a basic tear-drop type shape. Now... my materials I'm using aren't exactly ideal... Body will be made from 3-ply wood, about 5mm thick... Yeah. It's a bit thicker than what I should use, but I'm making it a little bigger to compensate.

To the work-bench! Not exactly a luthiers paradise... but, hey. This is about learning... Learning and island music.

There isn't going to be a fretboard... Just going to fret the neck directly. That's the part I'm most scared about.

So.. the headstock needed to be at an angle... and.. the guide said to just use a single piece. But we didn't have a piece big enough, so we put it at an angle! Using dowel bits and wood glue... It's about at a 22.5 degree angle. I really hope that's enough.

So.. The neck has been assembled and is drying.. Didn't get a pic of that but I will. Tomorrow I build the frame and bend the sides. Since none of the guides are for such shaped instruments, this might be interesting.

Now, whilst constructing the basics, anyone have any ideas for decorations or themes? I want something old-school looking. Maybe pirate-y? I think that'd be fun. Something simple.