I usually post re-done versions of songs that I started writing years ago, but this one is different. I started writing this song a couple weeks ago, and kinda liked it so here it is. And by here, I mean in my profile. Crit for Crit as always

I guess you can call it sort of lite-rock or something. its actually a kinda bland, generic song in many ways. To start, it is a song about a girl. Then its got some lame bassline made up of pretty 2 notes per chord (hey, im still starting out on bass). Then weve got four guitar chords, and to round it out weve got the fairly stripped down drum track. Now, just cause its generic doesnt mean I dont like it or think it has potential.

So, if anyone has anything to crit about the playing, singing, mixing or any ideas on how to fill the song out I would be very grateful. I'm working on some transitions/breaks so any ideas on that front would be superb.

For those interested in how things are recorded/the gear, read on.
basic recording setup for guitar was SM-57 a couple inches from the speaker, a little outside the center cap. I may have miced the wrong speaker for the clean parts, so they sound a bit strange at times. mic goes into my m-audio profire 610, and using reaper as my DAW. The guitar, well thats the reason this is recorded. Is the Schecter C-1 Classic I just got. Cleans are a single coil mode and dirt is the bridge 'bucker. Clean amp is my blackheart little giant on 3W mode. Dirt amp is Jet City JCA 20.

Bass is kinda boring, though this is also my first posted recording of me playing it. It is an Ibanez SRX-500. Dont have an amp so it is just DI into the Profire. I dont think I did anything to it either, just used the active onboard EQ to get a sound I liked.

Vocals are my Sterling Audio ST-79 into the Profire again. It is a fantastic mic, too bad my singing doesnt do it justice. There is some EQ, compression and 'verb on the voice as well.