Which recording equipment should I buy?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Alright, I hope this is posted in the right area if not someone point me in the right direction.

So I am looking into getting some recording equipment. I have went to a music store and talked with some sales people and they recommended Digidesign MBOX 2, Apex SP1 basic studio pack, KRK RP6-G2 speakers as they have better quality sound for $$$ amount and possibly some headphones. (Plus cords and stuff)

Now is the gear they recommended good quality, and enough to last a beginner at recording a while, while still having all the capabilities. My budget is around $800.

Thanks for any info!!!!!!!!!
You're headed off on the right track. Here are my thoughts on everything:

Digidesign Mbox 2 - Great choice for an interface IMO. Yes, its way more expensive than most other interfaces out there but well worth it. I've been using one for about 2 years now and its served itself well. Pro Tools LE is a great piece of software with a lot of great effects, plugins and virtual instruments. There are a few downsides to it though. First off, the Mbox only has 2 inputs so recording drums well is out of the question. Also, Pro Tools doesn't have support for VST plugins out of the box. There is a program out there for $100 that lets you convert VST plugins so they work in Pro Tools thats well worth the money.

Get the Mbox 2? Yes, if you can, get the Mbox 2 Factory cuz you get a lot of extra goodies

Apex SP1 - I've never heard of Apex or their mics so I did a little google action to see what I could find. It looks like a solid package. I didn't find any terrible reviews for it. Actually, most were pretty positive. It looks like a pretty solid set.