#1
Hey guys,

Ok, so just a quick little question

If you play a G#min7 chord in 3rd inversion with your right hand, (F#, G#, B, D#), but play a low G# with your left hand, is it still in 3rd inversion or is it written as root position??

Thanks
#7
ok, just to elaborate on this.. Just say, we a re playing the G#min7 in 3rd inv. with the right hand and with the left you are playing F#.. but underneath that on a double bass (or just normal bass guitar) a G# (i know this would sound yuk) but, would it still be 3rd inversion or not?
#9
Ok... here we go.

If the root note (G#) is in the bass (the lowest note played), it is in root position.
If the B is in the bass, it is in first inversion.
If the D# is in the bass, it is in second inversion.
If the F# is in the bass, it is in third inversion.

It does not what who, what, when, why or how these notes get there... the only thing that does is which is in the bass. Hell, you could have a Didgeridoo playing the low F# and it would still be in third inversion.
#10
Quote by DiminishedFifth
Ok... here we go.

If the root note (G#) is in the bass (the lowest note played), it is in root position.
If the B is in the bass, it is in first inversion.
If the D# is in the bass, it is in second inversion.
If the F# is in the bass, it is in third inversion.

It does not what who, what, when, why or how these notes get there... the only thing that does is which is in the bass. Hell, you could have a Didgeridoo playing the low F# and it would still be in third inversion.


this. period.
Anfangen ist leicht, Beharren eine Kunst.