Is it possible to do this?

Assuming a person has a very good knowledge in theory (knows scales, chords, notes on any fret on any string instantly) and is very well ear trained in intervals, would that person be able to compose songs and riffs and solos in their head without ever picking up a guitar and know exactly how it would sound out if they did play it?
Schecter Omen 6FR
Line 6 POD X3 Live
Line 6 spider IV15
Yamaha F325
I have no knowledge in theory I dont even know scales, and I can imagine the more frequently played frets on my bass ( the sounds) I can kindoff jam in my head
yes,
I've got a friend who plays piano, he's not only the best musician I know, he composes entire pieces for harmony bands (not sure if that's the english word...). He told me that if he hears something in his head (like we all have sometimes) he knows exactly how to play it, so he can compose large parts of pieces without sitting behind his piano.
I believe this is possible for guitar as well
Gear:
Fender Jazzmaster
Boss DS-2
Digitech RP150 (with Line6 EX-1 Exp pedal)
Orange Crush 30R

My Youtube Page
Read this!You know you really want to...

I'm writing a blog on composing if you wanna check it out, I'll post some of my tips on composing. Yes, its possible. You need to really know guitar and have been composing for a while. I'm able to do it sometimes, but not all the time.

http://learnhowtocompose.blogspot.com/

(Not a forum, a blog)