Hi all,

I've been playing acoustic for a few months and played the Electric the other day, Very cool!

Anywho, Ive got a mate offering $550AUD for his Epip Les Paul Custom(6months old).

I don't know Anything about Electric guitars. I know the Les paul is an Awesome guitar from reviews But I want to know if it's the right guitar for me to lay down $550 or if i should be looking for something else...

I enjoy playing Post-rock (would like to start), and melodic songs (if that makes any sense), please give me some directions...

I'm very tempted to lay $550 for this LesPaul custom, but I'm not sure if its an impluse buy or not.
Last edited by Mike_is at May 31, 2010,
is that with or without an amp?

a good guitar will sound crap with a bad amp but a bad guitar will sound decent through a good amp. Also what are you using it for?
Try it first. Epi are not bad guitar, and if you want you can ugrade it with gibson pickup that are amazing. Try to see if it keep in tune.
I'am not sure about AUD$ but compare the price with new stuff. It seems a little expensive even for a 6 months-old guitar.
in the uk its £360 for the 6 month old one and £450-499 for new, so its not a bad deal
Gibson Les Pauls are good. Epiphones are the budget Gibsons, (cause normals gibsons are overpriced hunks of shit and no one was buying them).

Pretty much, if you like the feel of it and it makes you want to play it OVER AND OVER... get it, cause if it makes u want to play again and again, u'll get better so quickly. The only problem of this is that you might run into the limitations of this guitar rather quickly.

This happened to me when i was using my dad's fender strat, but i got to a stage rather quickly (2-3 years) where i was playing music that need a floating floyd system and at least 22 frets (steve vai's fault haha). So i bought myself an ibanez S470 and i love it so much more, even though the fender is a very nice guitar, i'm better suited to the ibanez.