Ok so i've been playing guitar for 8 years now, and just started playing bass in a hardcore/metal band, and am trying to get used to the differences.
My main question right now (since i cant think of the others and i need to get to class) has to do with the strings. We play in drop C, and the low E string sounds very very floppy when i play it. granted, im playing on a squire so im aware its gonna sound like shit either way, but id like to have it sound the best i can without buying a new bass.
ive fixed this problem on guitar by switching to a higher gauged set of strings. can this be done on bass too? if so, what kind of strings would you guys suggest for playing metal in drop c?

look forward to your answers, ill be back after class!
Yep, it'll definitely work the same with bass. If you're going to drop C, up the gauge to .110-.050 and it should be all fine. As for the kind of strings, brand is really up to you (I recommend Rotosound always), but definitely get roundwounds for the classic metal sound.
Like jazz_rock_feel said, get a higher gauge string. 5 and 6 string basses have a B under the E, so if you buy a pack of 5's (or individual strings, the gauges should be from around .065-.130 from high to low) you should be all set. Rotosounds are good, but I also like D'Addarios.
Main Bass Rig:
Bass:
Dean Edge Q6 - 6 String with Active EMG-HZs

Amp:
Fender BXR 300C - 300 Watt combo

Pedals:
Boss GEB Bass Equalizer
Electro-Harmonix Bass Big Muff Pi
MXR Bass Envelope Filter
Tech 21 SansAmp Bass Driver DI
If you slap a set of 5 strings on there without the G string, you should be good.
Quote by JagerSlushy

Black people play bass.
Quote by isabiggles
Nevermind, that's a stupid pun for Australian pyromaniacs.
Just forget I said anything.

Quote by mac_attack
THE PURE SEXUAL THRILL!!!!
And stuff...

^^^
On playing bass.
Gear:
ESP B-206SM
Behringer BRX1800H
Acoustic B115
Asher Custom 2x10