Hi,

Is it necessary to have a practice scheme to become good?

I used to play a few scales up and down the neck before I started playing and did some exercises, but I soon grew bored of them and I just started playing songs. And I've been playing songs without doing exercises for a while now.

Does adding scales, exercises, .. really improve my playing that much better than just playing songs?
"I'm not retreating, I'm initiating an offensive manouvre in the opposite direction!"
I think that making a practice schedule can make you good in an efficient way. And besides scales and exercises you can work on ear training, improvisation etc. on a daily basis.
Quote by razorback91
Im sorry, I just don't see how you could argue that hardcore isn't metal. That just seems arrogant to me.

Yes, its its own kind of metal, but its still metal.
Exercises should augment your practice, but not be the focus of it. For example you get up to a part of a song that has sweep picking, but you can't sweep pick or at least not fluidly. Adding some exercises into your regimen can help you get past your prior limitations.
I only play song and I improvise a bit and I'm coming along quite well if I say so myself. So no I don't think it's essential
My gear:
Gibson Les Paul Studio Faded >>Dunlop Crybaby>>VoxVT30 =
do the excercises but not in a strictly scheduled manner, just goof around on scale and lead patterns in between songs and stuff and randomly throw in some speed and strength excercises and you get better faster cause it wont feel so routine and boring