Page 1 of 4
i'm an engineer (well, studying to become one). i'm sure every college has "general education" requirements... i'm taking an "American cultures" class right now focused on urban geography, and i'm thinking, "what kind of useless idiot studies this useless bullshit for a life?"

i'm exaggerating, because in this gray-scale world nothing is completely useless. having said that, i will proceed to continue saying that the humanities are, on the whole, a waste of public education funds.

the societal worth of a worker in the sciences far exceeds that of a worker who has an extensive knowledge of shakespeare or asian-american history (if you disagree with me on this particular point, you are wrong). it's one thing to pursue some discipline of the humanities for personal interest, which i personally cannot fathom but will tolerate. but it is another thing to use public funds to teach such things.

in the past year, my school decided to spend their extra funding on general education classes, which makes my blood boil. people pay exorbitant amounts of money for good education, which i do not think includes the trivial general education classes that only reinforce what should have been adequately hammered into place in high school.

thoughts? rebuttals?
Quote by archerygenious
Jesus Christ since when is the Pit a ****ing courtroom...

Like melodic, black, death, symphonic, and/or avant-garde metal? Want to collaborate? Message me!
Quote by vIsIbleNoIsE
the societal worth of a worker in the sciences far exceeds that of a worker who has an extensive knowledge of shakespeare or asian-american history (if you disagree with me on this particular point, you are wrong)

Quote by Pleasure2kill
The truth is, Muslims never apologized for their faith having something to do with the attacks on 9/11.
Quote by vIsIbleNoIsE