i have recently started writing drum lines for some songs i hace writen. now i am a very basic drummer as im a guitarist but im good at hearin what the drums should sound like wen i play the guitar parts to my songs, what id like to know tho is is it best to have seperate drum lines for each part of the song (i.e. a drum line for the verae then a different one for the chorus then another for the prechorus, etc) or is it better to have 1 or 2 drum lines that run throughout the song?

thankyou in advance guys
"better" isn't the right word to use.

let me ask you this: would you rather have a different guitar line for each part of the song? or would you rather have 1 or 2 guitar lines that you use over and over?
Anfangen ist leicht, Beharren eine Kunst.
It all depends on the song, I think that the drum line is a good way to change the sound of the song as you are going through, so when you want the feel of your song to change, changing the drums is a very good way to do it.
Quote by leg end

"Roses are red,
Violets are bitchin'
Goddammit woman,
get back in the kitchen"
"im good at hearin what the drums should sound like wen i play the guitar parts to my songs"

Awesome, then you're set. Don't worry about what we think is best because if you're already hearing the drum part you want in your head then it's all good.
i don't know why i feel so dry
Quote by Eastwinn

Awesome, then you're set. Don't worry about what we think is best because if you're already hearing the drum part you want in your head then it's all good.

This.

Make the drums whatever you want, but be aware that hearing the drums in your head can be realised faster in reality if you learn about certain bass, snare and hi-hat etc. conventions. Once I got a grasp of that stuff (even though I could hear the rhythms I wanted before learning about them) I was flying, and I don't even play the drums.
Last edited by MapOfYourHead at Jun 2, 2010,