1) is there any practice that would help at switching between chords? i always stumble when i try switching and i dont know whether its more my inability to switch or my strumming is bad.

2) can anyone point me in the direction of how to get better at strumming my guitar? (im just learning alternative picking if that helps).

3) also, how does one know how to play a song when all that is written on the chord sheet is the chords for the song. ive seen this tons of times and people comment that the chords are great, but when i try to play them, i cant get it to sound how i want it to go.

thanks for all the help in advance!

ive got guitar pro and guitar speed trainer, which ive been using to practice
To get better at switching between chords, practice. Practice your chords then practice switching between them. Walk, jog, then run.
1) Practice switching chords.
2) Practice stumming.
3) If you mean just playing the chords then you'll have to work out the strumming pattern by listening to the original song. If you mean you want the lead parts of a song, but you just have the chord sheet, you'll need to transcribe the lead or find a tab for it.
1) A good trick is seeing if you can leave fingers on the guitar or just shift them, rather than picking them up and moving them. (ie, from Am -> C you only have to move one finger. )

2) Try reading the main sticky here, it's got some stuff on strumming and rhythm.

3) Listen carefully to the original and the words and accents on which the chords change. If you can find the basic beat of the music the chords are probably changing every 4 or 8 beats, listen and try and work it out!