Alright, hey guys.

I need help writing a song.

So ive been plaing guitar for about three years now i think? i think its safe to say im decent. no god haha. i am currently taking lessons, more so for the theory aspect, not so much not reading. and i have a solid grasp on theory. i am not one of those people that can look at all the thoery threads and completly understand what your all talking about. but i know keys and common chords in keys and how to make chords ect. ect. the basics i guess. but the problem is. i have REALLLLYYYYYY wanted to be able to write my own music for some time now. and to be honest. i have NO idea how to sit down and throw a song together? im typically stronger in chord progressions than i am with melodies. but either way. can anyone give me some tips on how you go about putting a piece of music together?

I have tried to pick a key and just mess around using the common chords for that key (I, IV, V) but that always ends up sounding repetative and bland. i know there has to be more than that when putting a song together. so where do you guys start when writing? whats your process of thinking?
Get a nice chord progression and make a melody to fit the chords, or get a melody and harmonise it with chords.
the question is what you want to do. I've benn playing guitar for almost 3 years now and I'm writing songs since one year I think but these songs are all not in a typical order of chords like all the pop-songs you hear. So if you want to do the rock kind of stuff you should really just jam around just play some riffs out of you
my approach: melody line first.. bass line second.. write the ending.. write the begininng.. connect the dots
My Gear:
JacksonStars KE TN-02
Jackson DK2M
Jackson WRXT
Jackson KSXT
Jackson DXMG
Jackson 7 String soloist

Ovation Celeberity
Quote by griffRG7321
Get a nice chord progression and make a melody to fit the chords, or get a melody and harmonise it with chords.