I recently was given some Black Dahlia Murder and Necrophagist CD's by my friend. I've been playing guitar for 4 years, and I decided that I wanted to try something new.

First off, this stuff is hard! I LOVE the songs and riffs, but it's so intense and hard to play. Any tips? (warmups, practices, etc.) I'm not too interested in soloing, but I'd like to learn how to sweep and stuff like that. Maybe give me a song to start out with?

Thanks alot!
Epiphone SG G400/Line 6 Spider III
Squier CV Jazz/Acoustic B20

Gear savings: $25/$400
Saving for Acoustic B200H/B115 stack
Just turn on a metronome and practicing getting really clean galloping, and trem picking. Judging from the covers on youtube, i don't think many people realize that TBDM uses mostly down strokes aside from trem picking, so make sure you can evenly downpick those licks, a good song to start on would be Flies. Necrophagist i cant give as much insight into, but for TBDM its mainly (just to sum it up)

-Galloping
-Trem picking
-Downstrokes
-String skipping

all of these you can really just turn on a metronome and just practice using chromatics.
alright, thanks!
Epiphone SG G400/Line 6 Spider III
Squier CV Jazz/Acoustic B20

Gear savings: $25/$400
Saving for Acoustic B200H/B115 stack
One of the first death metal songs i learned was Elder Misanthropy by BDM. The opening utilizes a very common death metal technique, which involves fast alt. chugging between the 6th and 5th strings(and one or two notes on the 4th), with a HoPo thrown in there for good measure. Get that up to speed, and you'll be prepared to tackle metal dragons the world over! (not quite, but its pretty kickass to play fast death metal licks.)