I'm no idiot I know EMG's are awesome for metal but, i don't like them. I play tool to yngwie to Buckethead to Behemoth and back! I'm a lead guitarist in a prog metal band. I play in Drop D to Bflat tuning. Favorite Scales/Modes are Phrygian, Aeolian, Mixolydian, Locrian, Hungarians, harmonic/melodic, and a lot of middle eastern exotics. I'm very technical but not too keen on gear and all. I need a pickup that will have emotion. Very good low and high tones, clean, and distorted, active or passive. Links are welcome.
try the pickups that come stock on the explorer, they are awesome clean and with distortion, i forgot the names, but i use them when i play metal, anywhere from bullet to KSE to slayer to cannibal corpse, and coheed and cambria
Hell Yea Im Straight Edge!
ESP Eclipse II (or) Fender Strat w/David Gilmour EMGs > Cry Baby Original > Digitech RP250 > JOYO Ultimate Overdrive > MXR BLS Chorus > MXR Phase 90 > EHX Memory Toy > 1981 Marshall JCM800
duncan invade for bridge its AWESOME
(\__/)
(='.'=)
(")_(")98% of teenagers in America are currently bringing sexy back. Put this in your signature if you are one of the 2% where sexy never left.
Check out the Dimarzio Evolution
I'd link you but Dimarzio's site is not link friendly
Warning: The above post may contain lethal levels of radiation, sharp objects and sexiness.
Proceed with extreme caution!
Quote by Doritoland
duncan invade for bridge its AWESOME

no. and yeah, im on the dimarzio wagon. the DAX's i have are just amazing. Try out the Evo's though, as that dude said. Dimarzio makes some great pickups.
GEAR:
Ibanez Xiphos XPT750
ESP Ltd Viper 400
Egnater Rebel 30 112
Boss GE-7
Line 6 Uber Metal
Boss DD-7
Quote by Zer0t0lerance