Page 1 of 2
chris_guitar10
Registered User
Join date: Jun 2010
134 IQ
#1
hello

I'm gonna start a thread for GPX. files only

I'm new to this site, and i recently bought guitar pro 6.

http://www.guitar-pro.com/en/index.php

So far i can't find any Guitar pro 6/gpx. tabs anywhere because it just came out.

I take no credit of making the tabs on guitar pro, i'm just tweaking the guitar pro files, to sound as close as possible to the actual song as it has Real Sound Engine 2

http://www.fretbase.com/blog/2010/04/review-guitar-pro-6-tablature-software/
Last edited by chris_guitar10 at Jun 3, 2010,
Kwonnie
UG Senior Member
Join date: Nov 2008
9,406 IQ
#2
GP6 blows, what specifically are the tabs to, and what are you tweaking exactly?
defiance64
>:) Imma mad-smiley! Raha
Join date: Feb 2007
2,255 IQ
#3
Quote by Kwonnie
GP6 blows, what specifically are the tabs to, and what are you tweaking exactly?

GP6 is gay. However...It sounds good... on acoustic gutiars... lol
PSN: RokkstarX
Live: RokkyX

All my original (C4C) material is located here.
Gulli05
Symphonic Metal Guitarist
Join date: Apr 2008
1,055 IQ
#6
Quote by Shaharz
I don't think you get the point of this forum.

Anyway, gp5 is way better than 6.


Glad to see someone agrees with me.
"Fly with me forever high
And with these wings
We'll set the world on fire
Fly with me through scorching skies
You and I - The lie of lies"

-Symphony X
Nemesis@Germany
Rhythm Guitar
Join date: Feb 2009
465 IQ
#9
Cubase > Guitar Pro
CLICK
Quote by synestershadows
Holy shit nemesis, that was depressing.
Mission accomplished!
frankibo
UG Board King
Join date: May 2007
3,093 IQ
#10
Quote by Nemesis@Germany
Cubase > Guitar Pro


Not for guitar tabs.
My songs are all located here .
Feel free to drop by and crit a song.
Leave a link and I'll return a crit



Colossus
Nemesis@Germany
Rhythm Guitar
Join date: Feb 2009
465 IQ
#11
Quote by frankibo
Not for guitar tabs.


yeah, right.
but if you need guitars only, powertab's enough.

did you ever tried to write music in cubase?
it's pretty hard at first, but i noticed that i write in different time sigs without knowing it.
in gp it is quite a hassle to write in different time sigs, especially if you use polymeter and stuff.

oh well, every program has its cons and pros.
CLICK
Quote by synestershadows
Holy shit nemesis, that was depressing.
Mission accomplished!
Seb1uk
Registered User
Join date: Aug 2007
4,004 IQ
#12
Quote by Nemesis@Germany
Cubase > Guitar Pro


Isn't that like comparing a movie to a drink? As in, there really isn't much relevance between the two.

Unless I'm completely missing something such as Cubase having some sort of tabbing system?

And I prefer gp to powertab as well, a lot more efficient and easier to use, even for just guitars.
kylendm
Baronboi
Join date: Aug 2006
8,191 IQ
#14
GP is really the best way to go anymore. GP4 was the best and will always reign superior. If only they made GP4/5 with an 8 string addition.

Someone!

Mod it...
Guitars:
Ibanez UV777P
Ibanez RGD2127FX
Ibanez RG3120TW
Ibanez RGD7421
Ibanez SA160
Amps:
Baron Custom Amps K88
Randall RM100
Madison Divinity II
Cabs:
Mesa 4x12
Bogner 4x12
H&K 4x12
Posthuman83
Registered User
Join date: Nov 2009
781 IQ
#15
It would be better if to take gp6 rse with all features on tuning and to put in gp5 user friendly interface.
will wait next banks for gp6
robertito696
Cybernetic Comp. Organism
Join date: Oct 2008
1,492 IQ
#16
^ I actually prefer the gp6 interface, but dislike RSE2. Except drums, the new drum system is annoying as shit.
For Frodo!
Quote by jrcsgtpeppers
No because a world full of marbles silly man is just as real as a half empty glass of microwaved nesquik.
Nemesis@Germany
Rhythm Guitar
Join date: Feb 2009
465 IQ
#17
yeah, MIDI mapping was cool.
i need GP 6 with the old drum-mapping style.
CLICK
Quote by synestershadows
Holy shit nemesis, that was depressing.
Mission accomplished!
zaskeq
Registered User
Join date: Apr 2011
10 IQ
#18
so, wtb someone to .gpx to .gp5 :/
i suppose if anyone has GP6 and save as a .gp5 right?
champayne
Sexual Harassment Panda
Join date: Sep 2006
843 IQ
#19
Quote by zaskeq
so, wtb someone to .gpx to .gp5 :/
i suppose if anyone has GP6 and save as a .gp5 right?


Way to bring back a dead thread!

I heard it doesn't have a "Save to .Gp5" function :/, can anybody confirm that?

Anyway, I think TuxGuitar can do the job. It's free. Check it out.
Quote by RhyseOrtiz
Banned because.. that was brilliant, champayne


Some of My Recent Songs

[thread="1403441"]Synthetic Damage WIP[/thread]

[thread="1350364"]The Nightman Awakens[/thread]

[thread="1322579"]Into the Sunset WIP[/thread]

[thread="1296556"]Frost[/thread]
[thread="1247340"]The Butter Knife Massacre[/thread]
[thread="1253933"]Into The Sparta Pit[/thread]

[thread="1224038"]Untitled Tech Thing[/thread]
.Joker.
Registered User
Join date: Jul 2008
410 IQ
#20
Quote by champayne
Way to bring back a dead thread!

I heard it doesn't have a "Save to .Gp5" function :/, can anybody confirm that?

Anyway, I think TuxGuitar can do the job. It's free. Check it out.

There is no "save as" I guess...but you can export it to a gp5 file, I guess that's the same.
I just installed gp6 today...big disappointment, I just got it so I didn't have to deal with gpx files anymore haha. I actually lol'd at the drum writing procedure, were they sober when making this?
Nemesis@Germany
Rhythm Guitar
Join date: Feb 2009
465 IQ
#21
Quote by .Joker.
I actually lol'd at the drum writing procedure, were they sober when making this?


I don't think so..
Maybe you'll like it if you're forced to program drums in GP6, but i'd rather avoid this bothersome.. feature.
CLICK
Quote by synestershadows
Holy shit nemesis, that was depressing.
Mission accomplished!
ctfod
Your move, creep
Join date: Jun 2008
1,105 IQ
#22
Are you guys on crack? GP6 is far superior.
Quote by duncang
maybe it's because i secrely agree that tracedin inymballsackistheb best album ever


he's got the fire and the fury,
at his command
well you don't have to worry,
if you hold onto jesus' hand
duck1992
Registered User
Join date: Nov 2007
501 IQ
#24
yeah... I don't really understand what's so hated about Guitar Pro 6. The drum writing process is different, but not difficult... I mean, all it takes is a quick glance to know where each part of the drum kit corresponds to it's note on the staff. I saw that some guy said that is was hard to write in odd time signatures... I don't really see that, as all you have to do is click a button and type in your time signature. the RSE in this version kicks Guitar Pro 5's in the butt, ESPECIALLY in the drum department. With the other instruments you might have to tweak the EQ a little bit and mess with the stomp boxes and amps, but the fact that is has those things is pretty cool in itself. I doubt you'll ever find yourself in a situation where you don't have to tweak anything to get something like the sound you're looking for.

My honest opinion is that I liked the GP5 interface better, visually, but after using GP6 for about 2 weeks I totally forgot what the GP5 interface even looked like, and I don't struggle with finding anything or doing any task any more. Perhaps in the the next Guitar Pro the learning curve won't be as steep (although it only took me about 3 days to learn how to do anything I wanted in GP6), but I personally think it's a big step up from GP5. Making backing tracks with drums, bass and sometimes keyboards is great, and you get them to sound pretty decent for most practice or youtube purposes.

And think about this: You create a progression to improvise over in Band in a Box, and you export it to midi, then import that midi file into Guitar Pro 6. Tweak the tracks for about 2 minutes and you have a great backing track to improvise over that doesn't sound nearly as midi driven as it used to.
Nemesis@Germany
Rhythm Guitar
Join date: Feb 2009
465 IQ
#26
Prof. musicians ftw!
PMs can convert sheetmusic into real music, GP4, GP5, and even GP6 if you tell them so! you can even use them for backing tracks!
The usage is intuitive and the interface, visually, is very appealing. (provided it's the female version)


sorry, i had to do that.

awe, use whatever you want to create masterpieces.
beethoven didnt have GP5/6 and his stuff was pretty ok. (at least some of it)
CLICK
Quote by synestershadows
Holy shit nemesis, that was depressing.
Mission accomplished!
penner
Tab Contributor
Join date: Jan 2005
861 IQ
#27
Quote by .Joker.
There is no "save as" I guess...but you can export it to a gp5 file, I guess that's the same.


No it doesn't. Why would you say it does?
Guitars: Fender MIM Stratocaster, Schecter C1 Hellraiser
Amps: Peavey 5150 II, Marshall 1960A Cab, Marshall MG412 Cab, Roland Cube 30
Pedals: Boss DD-3, PH-3, TU-2, NS-2, Dunlop Crybaby, MXR 6-Band EQ, Morley Wah
http://www.facebook.com/mlfhband
a_7_x
x'; DROP TABLE *; --
Join date: Sep 2006
425 IQ
#28
GP6 is superior.

The hardest thing to get used to was the percussion writing, but eventually I got used to it. I still sometimes open GP5 to write a drum track then paste it into GP6, just because I'm so used to it I can do it faster.

The RSE is great in GP6. I hated RSE before, I think I used it once with GP5.

The interface is much easier to navigate around. It's so different, but you get used to it in a week or two.

My only problem is that the RSE in GP6 can't replicate a church organ very well, which I like to write for.
Jonathan Trejo
ZeBlaZeD
Join date: Nov 2007
1,438 IQ
#29
I don't understand how can someone compare a daw to a guitar tab program.
Click My Library to see what I've written

My Library
Blazingguns00
Registered User
Join date: Apr 2012
360 IQ
#30
tux doesnt seem to open gpx... ragequit, anyone got a solution that doesnt involve buying unneeded software?
EpiExplorer
orsonfacenospace
Join date: May 2008
5,555 IQ
#31
Quote by Blazingguns00
tux doesnt seem to open gpx... ragequit, anyone got a solution that doesnt involve buying unneeded software?


There WAS a website that could convert GPX to GP5, but after 2 weeks, it packed up and stopped working.

Aside from that, no, there is no way of doing it without buying GP6.
o()o

Quote by JamSessionFreak
yes every night of my entire life i go to bed crying because i wasnt born american
Ometh
UG Addict
Join date: Oct 2009
3,911 IQ
#32
Quote by EpiExplorer
There WAS a website that could convert GPX to GP5, but after 2 weeks, it packed up and stopped working.

Aside from that, no, there is no way of doing it without buying GP6.

There is...
Quote by slapsymcdougal
I'm cockblocked regularly by my appearance and personality.
Erra93
erriuyai
Join date: Nov 2009
1,682 IQ
#33
Quote by EpiExplorer
There WAS a website that could convert GPX to GP5, but after 2 weeks, it packed up and stopped working.

Aside from that, no, there is no way of doing it without buying GP6.


There still is such a website:
http://www.webtabplayer.com/

Just upload the GPX tab and let it load, then click Download and you'll be able to download it in gp5
EpiExplorer
orsonfacenospace
Join date: May 2008
5,555 IQ
#34
Ohhhh, I knew of a different site, but cheers
o()o

Quote by JamSessionFreak
yes every night of my entire life i go to bed crying because i wasnt born american
Ometh
UG Addict
Join date: Oct 2009
3,911 IQ
#35
I wasn't talking about the website if you guise get my drift
Quote by slapsymcdougal
I'm cockblocked regularly by my appearance and personality.
Erra93
erriuyai
Join date: Nov 2009
1,682 IQ
#36
Quote by Ometh
I wasn't talking about the website if you guise get my drift


You're a gangstah criminal, we get it
Zaqq
Registered User
Join date: Oct 2011
1,014 IQ
#37
I started GP with the version 6, so the drum writing wasn't a problem for me. Now I can write normal drum lines even though I've played drums only 1 or 2 times in my life And looking on screenshots of GP5 interface, I can say GP6 looks much more comfortable to use. I also used Tuxgutiar, and it's damn uncomfortable to use.
EpiExplorer
orsonfacenospace
Join date: May 2008
5,555 IQ
#38
Quote by Zaqq
I started GP with the version 6, so the drum writing wasn't a problem for me. Now I can write normal drum lines even though I've played drums only 1 or 2 times in my life And looking on screenshots of GP5 interface, I can say GP6 looks much more comfortable to use. I also used Tuxgutiar, and it's damn uncomfortable to use.


Really? I thought the easy-to-correct style of tux was far easier than any guitar pro version. Also, takes me ages to write anything complex on GP, but takes no time in tux. The only downside to using tux is the lack of control over velocities/F10 everything, but when converting to MIDI, its easy enough to adjust in a DAW anyway. I also think the RSE is shit, it doesn't sound realistic and the samples dont sound good at speed. Normal MIDI engine is enough to convey notes clearly while still having individual tonality.
o()o

Quote by JamSessionFreak
yes every night of my entire life i go to bed crying because i wasnt born american
Blazingguns00
Registered User
Join date: Apr 2012
360 IQ
#39
that'll do me :P well Tux is doing me well enough even though interface is a bit fiddly, not to mention slides sound like a xylophone getting run over by a mobility scooter... suppose I COULD get off my arse and download GP6 ^.^ but them again tux is open source so I feel good, makes up for having CS6 I'll use that website cheers guys
amonamarthmetal
Registered User
Join date: Aug 2008
1,808 IQ
#40
Quote by Life Is Brutal
Tuxguitar FTW.

And Tuxguitar can convert TG into GP5 or GP4.

Tuxguitar over GP
Gear:
Dean RC7X (Bareknuckle Coldsweat pickups)
Ibanez Rg2570Z (Bareknuckle Juggernaughts)
Schecter KM-6
Schecter Hellraiser Hybrid 7 String
Engl Powerball II
Orange PPC412
Line 6 Pod HD500X