I just bought a very very lightly used ESP LTD EC 1000 they other day and I absolutely love it! I finally got the time to replace the strings on it and I'm sort of concerned. I put D'Addario .11s on it, and even in standard tuning I get an awful rattle and buzz whenever I pick a note. Its the worst on the top 3 strings. As you can imagine, I cant even play in any drop tunings either, the rattle just gets worse!

Whats more confusing is I have the same strings on my crappy Squier Strat, and I can tune down to A# without a problem. The strings are a bit loose, but still playable. I cant see why things would be any different with a higher quality guitar and the same strings.

I'm not sure what to look at. I'm very new to messing with guitar hardware and I have no clue where to start. I've been reading into intonation and truss rod adjustment, but that looks complicated. Im not sure how to change the string action on my guitar either. The guys over at Guitar Center are absolutely no help at all either. I think they're just excited they made a sale...

So an suggestions? I'm open to anything. What should I do?
if you are not familair with setting up a guitar, pay to get it done, and watch and ask questions while they do it so you can learn.

its not hard to do yourself, but there could be a potential for damage if you mess up adjusting the truss.
WTLT 2014 GG&A

Quote by andersondb7
alright "king of the guitar forum"

Quote by trashedlostfdup
nope i am "GOD of the guitar forum" i think that fits me better.

Quote by andersondb7
youre just being a jerk man.

****** NEW NEW NEW!
2017-07-07 2017-07-07 Update and a Chat On Noise Constraints *** NEW FRIDAY 7/7
2017-04-13 RUN AWAY from COMPUTERS!!! TCE? RANT ALERT!!!
2017-03-02 - Guitar Philosophy 1001- Be Prepared For the Situation (Thursday 2017-03-02)
2017-02-21 How to Hot-Rod the Hell of your Stratocaster for $50! (Tuesday 2017-2-21)
Resentments and Rambling from a Guitar Junkie
---> http://trashedengineering.blogspot.com/