Hey guys, I'm just starting out with vocals. Complete beginner.
I just have a feeling my vocal range is awful, even for a starter.

Excluding falsetto I am A3 to D4

What are your thoughts UG?
Your range is probably much larger, but haven't learn to access the parts outside your comfort range (the range where you speak normally). Go to a singing teacher and ask them to find your range.
And no, Guitar Hero will not help. Even on expert. Really.
Soundcloud
^ Agreed. Most people have roughly a two-octave range. Rarely much more and rarely much less. NOT including falsetto.

If a singer says he has a three octave or more range, they're usually either lying or are not measuring their range properly.

If a singer has a one-octave range, they are merely limiting their voice by poor production technique. You almost surely DO have those two octaves. How you produce your voice is, in 99% of cases, the limiting factor that prevents you from achieving that.

As Alan suggested, get a vocal instructor who will teach you technique.

CT
Could I get some more talent in the monitors, please?

I know it sounds crazy, but try to learn to inhale your voice. www.thebelcantotechnique.com

Chris is the king of relating music things to other objects in real life.
Thank you guys,
a bit short on cash at the moment so an instructor may have to wait a month or so.
But if technique is really putting that much of a bottleneck on my voice then I'm gonna get that son of a mother sorted
All great advice.

Quote by axemanchris
If a singer has a one-octave range, they are merely limiting their voice by poor production technique. You almost surely DO have those two octaves. How you produce your voice is, in 99% of cases, the limiting factor that prevents you from achieving that.