What would be the best way for two guitarists/ one guitarist and bassist with possibly vocals and drums to record to mp3? I have no idea about mini recorders or computer mp3 recorders so any info would be great
Quote by canihasbucket
don't record to mp3, record to something lossless then convert to mp3 for distribution

Don't all converters cost money? If so how much? I converted when i was younger and this annoying voice ad played every two seconds.

Thanks for the quick post though! :P
most recording programs let you export to mp3, but I think hes trying to say don't record raw audio in mp3 format. But dont worry about that. Most if not all recording programs record as WAV or an otherwise suitable format. Also, See the threads at the top of this forum, all the information is there.
I'm a noob to recording. I'm asking which is the best way to record? And how do i go about doing it? For example should i buy one of those Boss Micros or buy computer software??
Well, first what's your budget?

Do you think you would rather record one track at a time, or the whole band simultaneously?

What level of quality are you looking for?

Whats the end goal for these recordings? Just to hear yourselves play and self-critique it or make CDs or a demo?
Quote by saint22
Well, first what's your budget?

Do you think you would rather record one track at a time, or the whole band simultaneously?

What level of quality are you looking for?

Whats the end goal for these recordings? Just to hear yourselves play and self-critique it or make CDs or a demo?

Thanks for the post! Budgetwise, i suppose up to £100 but something cheaper would be good. If your not in the UK you could use a converter to find how much that amount is in your currency.. I have no idea for euros or US dollars as the exchange rate is in meltdown at the moment.

The whole band simultaneously would be best to capture any creative sparks but track by track would be okay if it were easy enough to use..