Hi there everyone,

After years of air-guitar playing I finally got sick of making the silly joke of "dude, i'm a professional listener, i can listen to a guitar solo like you can't even imagine" and stuff like that and decided to take this thing seriously. I bought my first guitar 5 years ago and even though I took a couple of lessons it just didn't go so well. I was too numb to learn it and I was in such a mood that I was so sure that I can never ever play. Finally this week, after all those wasted years I picked up a guitar and simply tried to play Keep On Rockin' in the Free World. Good tune, very easy to play and I could play it. It was nothing magical and even nothing musical but there was that breaking point for me. I just couldn't take it anymore, I had to make something with this instrument.

So, at the age of 19, I'm starting playing literally for the first time. I'm aware of my age thus my limits. I know what I'm aiming to get out of a guitar and what type of a player I want to be. I just really don't wanna be yet another guy who knows nothing about music but playing the "chords".

Basically this is my situation:

- I can't read music (some say I don't have to)
- I have a 150$ Eagle acoustic, actually sounds very solid for the price
- I don't want to play extremely hard classic guitar stuff or being like Paul Gilbert, as I said I know what I want and I'm aware of my limits
- I want to be a decent guitar player
- What really matters for me is, being able to play the sounds in my head with the instrument, like when a melody comes up in my mind I want to be able to say "oh these are frets and etc to make that sound come alive"
- I'm looking for a place to start but I'm not so much into taking classes again, that's mostly an issue of money..
- I really don't wanna gain bad habits of bad practicing that would effect the rest of my playing.