Hi all.I'm new to UG and I came here with alot of questions that hopefully some one can give me a good opinion on. So a little about me and what i'm looking for.
I've been playing (tinkering/w) the guitar for about 15 yrs.Mind you its just been a bedroom hobby up until this point w/ the occasional jam at a friends house.But now i'm trying to take it to the next level (learning music theory and all).And one of the problems I find that i'm having is I dont like the sound coming out of the amp.Not that my playing is completely terrible but I find the sound uninspiring and not at all what I want to hear. The gear I have now is a Marshall AVT150H w/AVT 412 cab,early 70's bassman-amp,Epi Les Paul standard,Epi SG Custom Prophecy.
What I like to play:Black Sabbath is one of my favfavorites and i'm trying to learn to play the Blues.SRV,Joe bonamassa and really anything Rock N Roll.Although I like pretty much all kinds of music thats the direction i'm going.(Rockin Blues and old school metal).So what i'm thinking about doing is selling the AVT head and buying a new amp and maby trading up on a new guitar or changing pickups.Or using the Bassman-amp w/a good fx processor and eather upgrading the speakers in the AVT cab or building my owne 2x12 cab and selling the AVT head and cab together.As far as amps go I was looking into the Mesa Boggie Roadster,Fender supersonic and a crap load of others.Unfortunately I cant go and play all the amps and all the guitars(would be cool) to see how each one sounds + they always sound different when you get them home.Ultimately I would like to sound like my favorite bands but also have alot of room to play with to get my owne sound.

I hope this wasn't to much and thank you for taking the time to read it.
I hope to here some good opinions.

Thanks all. Bob
1. Ya gotta paragraph mate
2. Budget?
3. Fine with used gear?
4. (More for others really) Location?

IMO, you could look at the Mesa Boogie Lonestar
Quote by Blompcube