Hey guys

So I'm going to be getting an electric guitar for my birthday this year. It's a few months off, but I'm planning 'cause I'm really excited.

I'd say right now I'm an advanced beginner, and I've been doing all of my learning on an Eleca acoustic. It was really cheap, but decent quality for what I paid.

I have a budget of $500-ish. That's what my parents are fronting, but I can start saving some money if I want a more expensive guitar, to a certain point. Definitely nothing over $800.

Most of the music I attempt to play is indie/alternative style rock.

So right now I'm kind of torn between the standard Fender Strat (http://www.long-mcquade.com/products/765/Guitars/Electric/Fender_Musical_Instruments/Standard_Stratocaster.htm) and the Epiphone Les Paul Custom. (http://www.long-mcquade.com/products/1223/Guitars/Electric/Epiphone/Les_Paul_Custom_-_White.htm)

I really really really love the Gibson Les Paul Custom, but it's obviously out of my price range. I thought the Epiphone ht the would be a nice compromise, I really like the look and sound of the Les Pauls... The white custom pretty much has me drooling all over my computer.

Is the Epiphone still good quality? This is a higher end Ephiphone vs. a lower end strat, and it costs more than the Strat, but I've heard some people saying the strat'll be better? I dunno, I still have to go try them both out but I don't want to buy anything that's not worth the extra money.

Or... any other suggestions?

Thanks!
Last edited by emilieg at Jun 5, 2010,
Both links are the LP, but quality wise they'll be the same. I'd personally lean for the Fender.
breaking hearts
&
breaking guitars
I'd personally never touch an Epiphone! Feel cheap no matter what model i've found. The fender will be good but try looking at a Telecaster aswell
try buying what you like.

i say dean razorback, but you probably wont like it since your an indie kid

make your own choice or you wont be happy in the end