So I've only dabbled in Drop C a little bit (CoB's Are You Dead Yet? and Ozzy's I Don't Wanna Stop). Never did I bother to get thicker strings because I didn't stay in Drop C for long. But now my band is planning on playing "Monster" by Skillet for the 4th of July. As you guys know, it's in Drop C. Is it advised that I get thicker strings to play this song? And if so, what gauges do you guys think? I know I prolly sound like a noob, but as far as alternate tunings (other than 1/2 step down and Drop D), yes, I am a noob :/
What gauge do you have strung now? And on what guitar? What's the scale length? You'll need to (Most likely) adjust your truss rod to accomadate the tension difference. For dropped C on a 25.5" scale guitar (My LTD) I use D'addarrio .11-.49, and it works well. .11-.52 is a little tighter on your C, and might be a little more favorable to some, but for me a .49 is nice because I often go up to D standard as well and a .52 seems a little too tight at D. That's just my feel for it though.
if you're getting fret buzz or something when playing tuned down, you should prolly go for some .011 strings. If not, I guess you'll be fine with your current strings.
I use 10-46, but i like pretty loose strings. I used to play 9-42 in drop C :O!

I would reccomend 10-46, or maybe thicker on the low end. Depending on taste.
Guitars:
LTD Alexi-600 White & Black
LTD Alexi-200 Black(Death Adder pickup & Gold OFR)
Agile Interceptor Pro 727 7-string
Jackson JS30RR rhoads
Jackson DKMGT
Squire telecaster

amps:
Bugera 6262 212 loaded with WGS veteran 30's
I use Ernie Ball Regulars on my Strat for Dropped C, so if you have something similar then it should be fine
I've got Dean Markley jazzwound .12-.56 (I think it's .56) on my Iceman, tuned to C. I think that's a decent match.

You don't need the thicker strings. Iommi played C standard with .09s or .10s for a long time when he ****ed up his fingers.