Right, so recently I thought about maybe getting a bass. I already have access to a fretless, but I much prefer fretted :P. I'm a pretty good guitarist (grade 6 standard) and can already play decently on a bass.
I'm not too sure about what to get, though. I was considering a 5-string, because I want to play metal, but I also want to play slap bass, so I thought the extra string could get in the way :S.
Basically, what's a good, well-rounded starter bass? My budget's only £155 ($224) at the moment :/ so I'll probably wait a few months, but not too long :P.

P.S.: I already have a decent amp for it, so I don't have to spend anything on that :P

Edit: Just thought that second hand could be an option :P. If anyone knows a decent place to get second hand bass guitars, that'd be great . Oh, but not ebay, unless it's pick up
Last edited by JT436 at Jun 5, 2010,
https://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/showthread.php?t=737491
post #3

edit: i guess i can be a little nicer...i got an ibanez gsr200 for $200 new after playing guitar for 3/4 years...it works great for the punk and metal that i play
Quote by FlyingFuc!<
i read on the toilet.
sometimes i'm even on UG or AIM.
laptops + wireless = The Pit on the toilet.
Quote by RinestoneCowboy
Cannibal Corpse transcend genres and stereotypes with their emotional and heartfelt take on music.
Last edited by wannabe_punk at Jun 5, 2010,
don't need a 5 string for metal :P 4 strings ftw. My first bass was a
Rogue SX100B Series II which im not sure i'd recommend to you, but seeing as your already a decent guitar player you'll probably be able to handle some buzzy strings unlike me who was an absolute begging when i got it. What i think you should get is a Ibanez GSR200 (GSR 205 is the 5 string version, still pretty good) i think they are around your budget. Really beautiful basses. It's what i currently have and i don't plan on getting a new bass for quite some time.
Quote by wannabe_punk