Hi Guys,

Q#1
How do locking tuners work?

Q#2
Do they hurt the strings?

Q#3
Do they really help the guitar stay in tune? If yes, for how long?

Q#4
How much is a nice locking tuner?

Thx guys. Rock on.
1. The hold the string tight at the nut so they can't be loosened or tightened and thus won't drop out of tine.

2. No, not as far as I know, but I'm no expert.

3. Yes, but only if the strings are fully stretched properly (a mistake I make a lot xD) and if everything is set up right. If everything is set up correctly then the guitar can stay in tune for weeks/months even...

4. I don't know, I've never bought them, they just come with guitars that have locking tremolos. That's essentially what they are for, to hold your strings in tune when you're using crazy tremolo techniques. If you don't have a tremolo like a floyd rose or a knock off of some sort, then you shouldn't need locking tuners.

Cheers.
. . ▄████▄ . ▄███▄
. █████████▀ . . . . . . . . . . . . ▄▄
.███▌█|█|█|█|█|█|█|█|█|█▐███▄▄
. ████████▄ . . . . . . . . . . . . . º º º º º º º
. . ▀████▀. ▀██▀
VVolverin3, thats a locking nut, not locking tuners

1- They stop the string slipping at the tuner. Different brands have different locking mechanisms

2- No, but if you arent careful you can over-tighten some (Gotohs) and break the strings

3- Yes, especially if you have a trem system, they stop string slippage which can cause tuning stability problems

4- From $50-100 for a decent set. Usually, the more you pay the better quality they will be.
Locking tuners are great i have them on my LTD it's just the standard TOM bridge which would stay in tune fine, But with locking tuners you can change a string so easily and it will stay on tune fine wihtout having to worry about "Did i restring it shit or good this time?"

And for $50-100 well worth the price imo.
Quote by VVolverin3