so ive been playing guitar for around 5 years, and in this time ive played nothing but metal and heavy music, and thus not accomplishing a lot. ive grown to want to play other styles of guitar, mostly blues and classical style guitar playing. atm im hooked on stuff like otis taylor (banjo i know) and virtually anything with a catchy bluesy hook.

i have no idea where to start with this type of music, so if anyone wants to direct me to some good starting points id be stoked!
As far as blues there's always Stevie Ray Vaughn, Eric clapton, the two names that are often thought of when the word blues is mentioned.

Classical, well you can always look at Yngwie Malmsteen, he has a very classical mindset when he writes music but always gives it that rough rock sound. Then there's also your actual classical songs, many people were really getting into Cannon in D Major by Pachelbel not too long ago, also a song thats used in alot of other songs. Brahm's lullaby is another one I've seen done on the guitar a few times..

However classical guitar songs, and classical guitarist is almost two different things. You can find many tabs for classical songs, and if you understand music notation and some theory then its really not that hard to tab any classical songs yourself.. But classical guitarist is in a way different from the way they're taught to the way they play.. small example is that most classical guitarist will always finger pick songs, some are seen holding there guitar up straight instead of across your lap on whichever knee you use. But over all, it depends how much you really wanna learn from the genres.
Listen to Muddy Waters, Howlin' Wolf, Lightnin' Hopkins, Buddy Guy, BB King. Thats where The Blues is at.
i think id go as far to say id just like to learn a little of the classical songs as opposed to the complete classical style. i still love my heavy stuff i just wanna get into some other styles of music that from what i see, seem very fun to play.