Hey guys.

after playing one of the best gigs of my life last night, the sound man said we were amazing players we just needed to improve our sound. I have just bought a Hayden mofo so i dont think its the amp. I think i need a range of effects. I wants as little as possably because of a low budget, I play ACDC, Guns n roses, Foo fighters, U2 and velvet revolver kind of music. Could anyone suggest a range a pedals that i should look at? i have very little experience of pedals and effects! thanks paul
Check out pro guitar shop.com - they have awesome demo videos for a large range of good effects. I would steer clear of Boss and Digitech...
Suhr Custom, Flaxwood Rautia or Grosh Tele thru
HBE Medicine Bawl Wah
Analogman BiComp
Texas Two Step OD
Fulltone Ultimate Octave/Fuzz
Boss CE-2
TC Nova Delay
SLO-100, 65 London or Bogner Shiva
Ask me about any of this stuff!
For what you're playing, the only thing you might need, is a chorus pedal and a wah.
If you can't get the distortion sound you want out of your amp, the best thing to do is either get an amp that does, or an equalizer. IMO amp distiortion is always better than pedal distortion.
Electrics:ˑˑˑˑˑˑˑˑˑˑˑˑˑˑAmps:
Jackson DKMGFFˑˑˑˑˑˑˑˑˑˑRandall RG100SC G2
Washburn DIME 333ˑˑˑˑˑˑˑRandall RH200X / RA412 2x Half-Stacks
ESP LTD EC-1000 STCB
Dean From Hell CFH
On the basis of the stuff you're playing I'd say the key pedals are:

Wah - especially for GN'R/Velvet revolver, generally always fun and can be used for over the top solos, funk rhythms and as a filter to alter a rhythm sound

Boost/Overdrive - more optional really, but can be helpful as a solo boost for added sustain/volume/drive

Delay - pretty critical for U2 stuff, especially Joshua Tree-era. I personally prefer analog to digital