Hi all. I've been playing for about 5 months now. No lessons, all self taught. I know I'll never be a concert guitarist and I just play and learn to have fun, nothing serious, just enjoying the sounds I make. Anyway, Lately I've been improving metal, coming up with my own riffs, basically driving my wife crazy. Mostly rhythm but I like to through a few single notes in too. I have my guitar tuned to drop D right now, but am wondering if tuning all the strings down a whole step might be better and leave more options open to me. I have to admit it's pretty easy to come up with some cool rhythms in drop D, but then it seems I'm stuck with mostly power chords. Any input would be great.
Quote by david1707
Hi all. I've been playing for about 5 months now. No lessons, all self taught. I know I'll never be a concert guitarist and I just play and learn to have fun, nothing serious, just enjoying the sounds I make. Anyway, Lately I've been improving metal, coming up with my own riffs, basically driving my wife crazy. Mostly rhythm but I like to through a few single notes in too. I have my guitar tuned to drop D right now, but am wondering if tuning all the strings down a whole step might be better and leave more options open to me. I have to admit it's pretty easy to come up with some cool rhythms in drop D, but then it seems I'm stuck with mostly power chords. Any input would be great.

well most metal bands these days tune down all the strings at least a full step. I tune all strings down a full step, and then if I want to do drop d I tune down the 6th string another full step (technically "drop C").

In short, if you wanna sound like the metal bands of today, experiment with some lower tunings. While nothing is wrong with standard tuning, as metallica used in the 80's, today it kind of sounds dated. Peace.